brother/sister/father/mother

I’m scared
though
not for the reasons you think I am
Have you ever had culture breathing down your neck?
Have you ever been torn down by the those saying
they support you?
of course.

Show me where there is sisterhood
and I will
run into its arms
Show me where there is brotherhood
and i will creep
into its midst
upset the furniture then ask
humbly for space
Show me where there is personhood
negotiated by a one and only
shaped by the myth of individual
genius
show me
I want it (what we cant have…)

I am scared for
all the reasons you think I am
because you
create me
my fears then valid if
you do not deny yourself

or, do they get swallowed
in the mix, the convenience of
a big sense of self and
that thing
that makes it easier to
listen to a man’s voice
when he demands your time?

women make me scared
men make me scared
I am scared because both are in me
raging
not being soft
enough to each other
too busy to listen
filling my stomach with
acid steam screaming
about different components
of the same dream

 

 

Leave a Reply

